Converting Houdini Not Commercial Files

This task was bothering me for a long time. We have educational license of Houdini in our school which works without any limitation within the school network. But often I want to reuse my asset created in school for other projects, however an attempt to do so transform my .hip file into apprentice version with all of the limitations applied.

By watching Ari Denesh tutorials (https://vimeo.com/60757344) I found a couple very useful commands.

opscript

http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini14.0/commands/opscript

cmdread

http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini14.0/commands/cmdread

This is an example of usage.

opscript -G -r / > F:/un/objgroups.cmd

And when load all generated .cmd back.

cmdread F:/un/groups.cmd

I didn’t test it with locked digital assets. According to documentation it won’t work.

Author: Kirill Kovalevskiy

I'm an engineer artist and entrepreneur who mostly focused on technology and automation across wide range of domains. I'm passionate about mixing technology and art which I express trough visual effects and videography.

Leave a Reply

